Andy Mac.

Andy Mac- FS blunt @ Nude Bowl

Andy Mac- FS blunt @ Nude Bowl

Grant & Andy

Grant & Andy

I met Andy @ the Bricktown, New Jersey  Pro/Am skate contest in 1991 or 1992. I was a judge for the contest &  later learned that he had been getting ‘ripped off’ in his last few contests …as usual.  He was tearing the spine ramp into small easily-digestible pieces & ruling it over Tony Hawk & several other notables. To the consternation of the ‘image-conscious’, he was wearing a Jay Adams Flyaway helmet & had flat-spotted wheels. Every time he landed an air over the spine it would make that loud peculiar sound- frump! frump! as he pumped up the opposite ramp trannies.

We became fast friends & over the ensuing years, spent many summers together at Woodward camp in Pennsylvania. He helped me as my assistant one summer after he fractured his leg. I still have vivid memories of him hobbling around on crutches trying to keep up with me…Andy moved to San Diego in 1992 – I think it was. He took a job wearing a Shamu suit at Seaworld, lived in cockroach -infested apartments & ate free  food samples at the grocery stores just to get by.

Andy always had time to be a good friend. He is the most positive person that I have ever met. When I moved to California in October 1997, Andy flew to Pennsylvania to ride out with me. We threw all my books, a few clothes, and some skate gear into my 1971 BMW 2002, then cruised our way to San Diego. The next year, Andy won the X-games vert contest & just about every other major contest out there. He accumulated substantial monetary compensation as well and bought a great house where a bunch of his pool pals moved with him.

Powell had the insight to put him on the pro team & it has remained a great decision for them. When Andy wasn’t  travelling, we would head out to the Badlands to ride backyard pools with Salba. Preston & Rhino, Bacon, Steve Roche & others, would all make the long drive up the I-15 from Pt. Loma to ride backyards. In 1998, JGrant Brittain, Andy & myself, drove out to Joshua Tree and the Nude Bowl to shoot photographs. It was a stellar weekend. The photographs are from that time. Andy took me to my first backyard pools in California & I owe him a debt that I cannot possibly repay. We had a falling out a few years back.  I lost a really good friend. Thanks to JGrant Brittain for the great photographs. Treat your friends well. Skate-Ozzie

3 thoughts on “Andy Mac.

  1. I watched Andy skate the Münster Bowl in Münster, Germany in 1995. He was the only one skating, and about 150 people watched. That Bowl is not easy to skate. Andy skated about 1,5+ hours. I have never watched anyone else skate a solo vert session with such determination. It ripped. That will be in my mind forever. He is a ripper.
    I also give him props for wearing those pads at contests, not caring what others think or if it will influence his scores.
    Thanks Andy and keep it this way.
    Chris

Comments are closed.