Faith.

Kyle Mitchell -'believing' in his landing at 'Eddies' pool.

“Faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole staircase.” -Martin Luther King Jr.

Faith is an odd thing. Not to oversimplify, but you either have ‘faith’, or you don’t. In order to have faith, you have to believe that there is a higher order to things. You have to believe …in ‘something’ other than yourself. For years, I wandered through life rejecting the God of my upbringing. I continued ranting that he’d turned his back on me & the rest of the world. I saw misery & reasons to justify my anger & selfish behaviors. “I am getting mine! Nobody cares anyway!”  It was easier to point my middle- finger at the sky, drown myself in a river of booze & anything else I could find. It was easier to blame anything…but me. I have quite a list of amends to make. I have found that it takes great strength to be gentle & kind. It takes fortitude to do the right thing. I heard that Bob Marley stated, “…the people trying to destroy the world, aren’t taking a day off.”  I have been thinking quite a bit on the topic lately. I am still unsure that there is an all-knowing hand pulling our strings; a great pre-planned destiny out there waiting . However, I am thinking. Maybe, God didn’t turn his back on us at all. Maybe it was we who stopped looking & believing. Maybe, in our hubris & smug knowledge, we have lost sight of what makes it all happen. Maybe. Faith? What do you believe? Thanks to Ray Zimmerman for the image- Skate & think-Ozzie

9 thoughts on “Faith.

  1. “A casual stroll through the lunatic asylum shows that faith does not prove anything.” – Friedrich Nietzsche

    “Faith is believing something you know ain’t true.” – Mark Twain

    “”Consciousness is much more than the thorn, it is the dagger in the flesh.” – Emil Cioran

  2. Yeah Oz, have been having a lot of “God moments” lately. It’s all so obvious….the fact our fingers are typing this.
    Who made our fingers? Our minds? Can we as humans ‘understand God’? I think not. I believe that’s where the thinking man has a disconnect with God.
    It’s religion.
    Religion is not God.
    You are God. I am God…all is but a manifestation of God.
    That’s why we need to heal, and to take the high road. Let those that need anger, and venom be angry and venomous without judgement.
    All we can do is add the good we are able.
    I am glad that is your choice…it inspires others…and helps them to hopefully share that choice.

  3. very nice story OZZIE you pretty much need faith and a belief in a higher power to ride a skateboard, so believe in the skate gods and go out and shred, don’t forget about spirituality.

  4. faith doesn’t come out of the microwave down at the 7-11. i couldn’t even pretend i had faith before i got off the drugs, i had no faith back then. i have built faith through time, experience and not picking that stuff up no matter what. did i mention lots of time? and lots of experience (not getting my way) i have faith today that no matter how bad things may appear, it will work out for the better in the end, provided i don’t try and steer it the direction i want it to go, now if i could only practice that when i’m in a pit trying to put my back truck on the coping frontside, i fail horribly at times in that situation

  5. Faith… Yes, you either believe or you don’t. I myself have always believed. I’ve felt whatever, pulling me back from the abyss many times. I’m not sure of anything, but faith has always gotten me through whatever shit I got myself into. It gives me comfort, at least for a little while. I don’t know what’s in store for me in the end. And all the shit I’ve done to myself I’m not sure I deserve anything, but I’ll keep trying and keep having faith. Another great story ozzie, peace

  6. wow…another great story!!!…dig the photo of kyle mitchell!!!…he’s the raddest & nicest back stabber i’ve ever met!!!…a true hearted sk8er…friend…also one hell of a sk8-park maker…he’ll be making whatever scraps around into something great to sk8!!! a classic all-around sk8er that you should have had a story on!!! good luck ozzie!!!

Comments are closed.