inspired

Duane Peters, me and Jayboy

Inspired. They inspired me in my youth and continue to do so now. I think that they are two of the most soulful hardcore skaters on the planet. They really don’t care. Never have. I mean, in the larger scope of things I think they care…  but to give a damn about what others think or with regard to bodily injury to themselves? I don’t think that either of them give it a passing thought. I remember my friend Jim Howell helped me paint lines on the bottom of my board when DP’s model came out and we went outside and learned sweepers on my rickety half pipe. We both slammed that day. My friend loaned me his Z-flex board one time back in 1977. I told him over the phone that I had the chicken pox and he shouldn’t come by the house to pick it up. I rode it on my ramp everyday…  for a whole week!  Inspired. Thanks to MRZ for the image. Skate- Ozzie

DP

Jay Adams

2 thoughts on “inspired

  1. Jay Adams Ruled in my mags in the 70’s and then came to CHSP to lay his style down on the right coast. CHSP was no backyard pool. It was the future of skating with a 3/4 pipe that was grindable by only a few and a 16foot egg bowl that was made had 3-4 feet of vert.Opening day Jay ripped the interior with his slash and burn style like a present day 3-D computer generated movie. All that were there were in awe!

    DP list of tricks rivals the most well known skaters. But every innovation and trick he executed was with unmatched style. I loved being a competitor in the Gold Cup series since this was the where DP shined. Layack stalls, invert reverts. On the outside DP looked Punk Rock but it was just the time and place. His style was artful, controlled and precise. They called him the Master of Disaster yet the only disaster was how few know how he influnced so many to follow.

    Jami Godfrey

  2. No doubt about it, the two Most influential personalities for the hardcore, innovative and punk skating styles
    Live long Oz man!

Comments are closed.