then

I became inhuman. I would see children playing in the park. I don’t remember being so naive. My cold blue eyes regarded them with a bit more tolerance than I reserved for most of my species. The people that I saw in day to day life sickened me. But imagine, just imagine, if I truly had a mind to let myself off the leash! Heaven help thee.  I knew deep inside that what I saw in them was the same weakness I saw in myself. I told my stories. Once they dried up there was still  emptiness in residence…  like a dark vulture wheeling above my life.  I would fall down and weep… a torrent pouring out of me. I had an ocean under my eyes. The undertow would tug at me. Swept away. Lost for all time. The evening was red, as if someone had brandished a cruel blade and skinned the sky. Life became more like a dream than reality. I walked in the woods to shake the mood. The branches were black and bare… more dead than they should be. It seems that most of what I did was for naught. How do I explain my years lived in twilight to people that live in daytime and hide away from the darkness? – Ozzie

after

Thank you to Lucia Griggi and PK for the images. Skate- Ozzie

 

3 thoughts on “then

  1. Breathe deep the gathering gloom
    Watch lights fade from every room
    Bedsitter people look back and lament
    Another day’s useless energy spent

    Impassioned lovers wrestle as one
    Lonely man cries for love and has none
    New mother picks up and suckles her son
    Senior citizens wish they were young

    Cold hearted orb that rules the night
    Removes the colors from our sight
    Red is grey and yellow white
    But we decide which is right
    And which is an illusion? Moody Blues poem

Comments are closed.